Sleep No More: Twenty Masterpieces of Horror for the Connoisseur
Armed Services Edition
Year :
Book No. : ASE # R-33 (See Notes)
Edition : 1st
Format : Trade Paperback (6.5 x 4.5 inches)
Pages : Unknown
Cover art : Photo Cover - Lee Brown Coye
Illustrations : Lee Brown Coye
"The Black Stone"
Non-REH Contents
"Foreword" by August Derleth
"Count Magnus" by M. R. James
"Cassius" by Henry S. Whitehead
"The Occupant of the Room" by Algernon Blackwood
"The Return of the Sorcerer" by Clark Ashton Smith
"Johnson Looked Back" by Thomas Burke
"The Hand of the O'Mecca" by Howard Wandrei
"He Cometh and He Passeth By" by H. Russell Wakefield
"Thus I Refute Beelzy" by John Collier
"The Mannikin" by Robert Bloch
"Two Black Bottles" by W. B. Talman
"The House of Sounds" by M. P. Shiel
"The Cane" by Carl Jacobi
"The Horror in the Burying Ground" by Hazel Heald
"The Kennel" by Maurice Level
"The Yellow Sign" by Robert W. Chambers
"Midnight Express" by Alfred Noyes
"A Gentleman From Prague" by S. Grendon
"The Black Druid" by Frank Belknap Long
"The Rats in the Walls" by H. P. Lovecraft
Edited by August Derleth
Brief REH bio included, with illustration.
Armed Services Editions were printed by the Council on Books in Wartime for distribution within the American military between 1943 and 1947. These books were designed to fit the pocket of a World War II American GI.