The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories
Oxford University Press
Year :
April 2003
Book No. :
Edition : 1st
Format : Trade Paperback
Pages :
Cover art : Unknown
Illustrations : None
    Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories
Other editions:


"The Tower of the Elephant"
Non-REH Contents
"Introduction" by Tom Shippey
"The Demon Pope" by Richard Garnett
"The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth"
Lord Dunsany
"Through the Dragon Glass" by Abraham Merritt
"The Nameless City" by H.P. Lovecraft
"The Wind in the Portico" by John Buchan
"Xeethra" by Clark Ashton Smith
"Jirel Meets Magic" by Catherine L. Moore
"The Bleak Shore" by Fritz Leiber
"Homecoming" by Ray Bradbury
"See You Later" by Henry Kuttner
"Liane the Wayfarer" by Jack Vance
"The Desrick of Yandro" by Manly Wade Wellman
"The Silken-Swift by Theodore Sturgeon
"Operation Afreet" by Poul Anderson
"The Singular Events which Occurred in the Hovel on the Alley off of Eye Street" by Avram Davidson
"The Sudden Wings" by Thomas Burnett Swann
"Same Time, Same Place" by Mervyn Peake
"Timothy" by Keith Roberts
"The Kings of the Sea" by Sterling E. Lanier
"Not Long Before the End" by Larry Niven
"The Wager Lost by Winning" by John Brunner
"Lila the Werewolf"by Peter S. Beagle
"Johanna" by Jane Yolen
"The Erl-King" by Angela Carter
"Beyond the Dead Reef" by James Tiptree Jr.
"Subworld" by Phyllis Eisenstein. 388
"Bite-Me-Not or Fleur de Fur" by Tanith Lee
"The Night of White Bhairab" by Lucius Shepard
"Thorn" by Robert Holdstock
"Troll Bridge" by Terry Pratchett
Select Bibliography
Source Acknowledgements
Stories selected by Tom Shippey